Previously Funded Projects

2016-2017 ESSM Research Gran Winners

ESSM is proud to annouce the winners of 2016-2017 Research Grands

Marcus Ilg (United Kingdom):
A novel combination for treatment of Peyronie's disease

Michal Lew-Starowicz (Poland):
Clinical efficacy and brain response to pharmacological treatment of compulsive sexual behaviour/ hypersexual disorder

Mark-Bram Bouman (The Netherlands):
Development of patient decision aid for gender confirming surgery in female-to-male transgender individuals

Alessandra D. Fisher (Italy):
Neurobiological correlates of Gender Dysphoria: A longitudinal study


2015-2016 ESSM Research Grant Winners

ESSM is proud to announce the winners of 2015-2016 Research Grants

Uwe Hartmann (Germany):
Sex addiction in men: Clinical characterisation and alterations of brain structure and function (Sex@Brain-Study)

Sarah Wahlin-Jacobsen (Denmark):
Androgen receptor polymorphism and women’s sexual function

Petr Weiss (Czech Republic):
The study of sexual variation: physiological and neural correlates during experimental exposure to erotic stimuli


2014-2015 ESSM Research Grant Winners

ESSM is proud to announce the winners of 2014-2015 Research Grants

Emmanuel Weyne (Belgium):
The endogenous role and therapeutic modulation of the Neurotrophin Galanin in cavernous nerve injury

Marta Mateus (UK):
Discovery of novel therapeutics for Peyronie’s disease

Marcel Waldinger (The Netherlands):
Prospective observational study for the identification of immunological biomarkers and potential targets for treatment of post orgasmic illness syndrome

Fabio Castiglione (Belgium):
Penile rehabilitation therapy: The fall of a myth. It is time to change paradigms!

Markus Margreiter (Austria):
Impact of sexual counselling and pelvic floor training on sexual health and continence in rectal cancer patients – an open-prospective randomized interventional case-controlled study